The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that providing free tuition for professors'children in Seatown University will improve the morale of the professors just like it did in Oceania University.

Universities are different by definition and classification. Seatown and Oceania University are two different schools with different set-ups, facilities, salaries, students and many more. What works in Oceania University might not work in Seatown University. There was no evidence to show that the two schools are similar. Therefore, it can not be concluded that what works in Oceania university will be successful in Seatown University.

Professors in Seatown university might not have college-aged children. Therefore, giving free tuition to them for their children will make no difference in encouraging the professors. There are different ways of giving incentives that might prove more beneficial to Professors at Seatown University. Some of which are: providing free stipends to cover travel expenses for research works, giving grants, providing free medical care and many more. Therefore, a survey should be carried out in Seatown to understand the needs of professor in other to serve them better.

Oceania university is just one university in the entire world. Using one university as a point of reference does not hold ground in making decisions about another university. Also, it was not specifically stated that Oceania and Seatwon university have any similarity in relation to their professors.

Therefore, to achieve the best results of encouraging professors, a research should be carried out before arriving at any conclusion, the author should survey as many universities as possible to understand how incentive are given to professors and which approach will be most successful in Seatown University by seeking the opinion of the professors at this university. This will ensure a more successful result.