Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Education is the key to the development of any nation. Therefore, to achieve this development it is important for student to acquire standard education. However, getting such education must come with hardwork. Therefore, students should not be given free university education, instead, they should be mandated to pay for their fees.

It is easier to appreciate opportunities that are earned, than those that come free. If the university education is free, it is most likely that this will result in the unseriousness of the student to their academics. Paying of fees by student sometimes serves as a check to the passion of the student for education. A student who works hard to pay his fees will try his possible best to excel academically than a student who recieves free education. The best universities in the world today, for example: Havard, Stanford, Darthmourth and many more, require tuition fees and payment of other expenses from students and still produce the best results in research and other educational related activites. Thus, payment of fees is important to the success of any university.

Goverment generate parts of their revenue from taxes, which are returns from revenues generated from citizens. This means for a stable economy there has to be returns on funds allocated by the givernment. Offering free education to students will add a burden to the government who most times already have enough responsibilities to cater for, and since they will be no returns such as taxes from payment of university fees, the government has a risk of running into debts over time.

Furthermore, if the government were to pay for the fees of students, there will be plethora of bereaucracy attached to the payment of such fees. This meant hinder smooth academic promotion of the students involved as they will have to wait for the government before they carry out any research or project in the universities that requires fund. Also, for university that are independent of the government might not have access to some specific benefits that public universities get. Thus, students in these private universities might be left out.

However, payment of university fees by the government will aid national development in genrally, since the fees are free, more graduates will be produced by universities, and as such there will be more availability of more labour force to work in the industries and various sectors.

In conclusion, it is important that students acquire the best education that they can, and this can be best achieved when students are required to pay for their fees.