A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

The author of the argument claims that in order to flourish, the advertising firm should only hire those executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep. To support his view he mentioned a recent study on 300 executives from the advertising industry including both men and women, which is all about the claim that the author made in the argument.

To determine the validity of the author's claims we have to understand that whether hiring the executives with fewer sleeping hours would help the firm to flourish in the advertising field or there are other options that would also play a crucial role in the companies success.

First, the author failed to mention that how the executives are represented in the study and on what factors the study was conducted as sleep can be affected by the multiple factors, for example, older people tend to sleep fewer hours when compared to the younger one. Moreover, in daily life, hardly anybody records their sleeping hours, so we can say that the study itself id flawed.

What is more, even if the study is reliable enough, it does not necessarily mean that the results are sufficiently promising to be taken seriously. Particularly, the author only mentions the positive correlation between shorter sleep hours and higher profit and faster growth, whereas no further information is given regarding how strong the correlation is. If the relationship found in the study is so weak that it has little practical meaning, then it would be futile for any advertising firm to have executives who sleep less.

Last but not least, if the advertising firm makes the suggestion given by the author mandatory to get a job, then people who will apply for the job may provide false information about their sleep hours. And the recommendation above for hiring people who need shorter sleep hours is based on an assumption that sleep hours in some way reflect the ability to be an executive.

In sum, we can say that the author's claim is based on the uncleared and unsubstantiated assumption. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we require more information and data about the point mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger the author must outline the actual step that an advertising firm must take in order to flourish.