To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

The author claims that one has to study the major cities of a country if they want to understand their culture, traditions or characteristics of that county. Many of us will argue that it will hold all the time while others will counter the claim by providing the examples. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Major cities are the backbones of a country as these cities play a major role in every aspect of the country whether it is economy, producing employment or any other factors, they are the one which contributed the most. These cities represent the countries at the international level and in some case they even more famous then the country and many people consider them as the countries capitals, for example, many people including me think that Istanbul is the capital of turkey as it is very famous tourist destination and also remain in the news, but recently I came to know that Asthana is the actual capital of turkey. So, major cities have this much impact on the world. But, saying that one should visit major cities under the culture or characteristic of a country is quite contradictory because of the following reasons.

First, the major cities alone won't represent the country culture, because if talk about countries like India or China, which are not only huge in size but also constitute of different cultural tradition and language, for example, in India you will find different culture, tradition or language if go from one state to another state like in the state of Punjab you will find people wearing turban and speaks Punjabi but if go to Rajasthan you will people in their different traditional dress and speaks Rajasthani. So, by visiting the major cities one cannot get the essence of the actual culture.

Second, there are many other ancient cities or cities that are not so famous are way more important to visit to understand the characteristics than the major one because of the development and modernization of things they are losing the touch of their culture. One can get some idea of their culture from the major cities because of the presence of people from different corners or culture. But to get the actual feel and understanding one has to visit their ancient cities, for example, in India's city, Ayodha which is not among the top major cities is the birthplace of Hindu's Lord Ram, if you visit there you will find the actual traditional culture of India. So, major cities will provide a gloomy idea about the characteristics of any country.

In sum, we can say that the major cities are an essential part of any country, but they won't provide a clear picture of their characteristics. In order for better understanding, one has to visit the ancient cities and cities that have the essence of that county culture.