Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The author of the statement stated that some belives that corporation should do something for the well being of the societies and environment as they think it is their responsibility, while others believe that they should do their work i.e to make money but within the countries laws. Many of us will argue that it will hold all the time while others will counter this by providing examples. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Corporations are the backbones of a countries economy as a country receives most of its money through the cooperate tax. Corporations are not only contributed as the major player in the country GDP but also provide jobs to a large number of population, For example, in India just behind the Indian Railways, it is TATA groups of companies that provide jobs to maximim number of Indians. So, In a way, they are contributing to the societies in the form of employment.

Moreover, there are many fields in they can contribute to the well-being of societies, for example, they provide free education to unprivileged children or they provide free medical checkups to those who cannot afford the expensive medical test. And, If look at the country like India, where more than 33 percent of the population living under poverty, there are a lot of opportunities for the cooperation to do for their well-fare. But there are small cooperations also whose turnover is not that much or not having amply of capital to invest in the social well-fare program. But what they can do is take care of the environment by producing very less not degradable waste or by lower down the emission of CFC gases.

But we cannot comply them to do so as they are bind by any law like this. It totally depends upon the wish of the top executives or Boards of directors to take initiative to do good for the societies.

In sum, we can say that the cooperations are doing something for the well-fare of society by providing jobs or by contributing to the GDP of a country, but they are not forbidden by the law to do so.