Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The author of the statement claim that one section believes, the government should provide funds to the art field so they can flourish, but others counter this by saying that if the government starts funding the arts then the integrity of the arts will get threatens. In my essay, I will highlight positive and negative points for both the statements and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Arts is an integral part of the countries historical cultures and traditional, that represent them at the international level. Arts connect cultures when people do not speak the same language, with visual images transcending the boundaries of language. Even within people who speak the same language, the arts provide a channel for communicating ideas, emotions, and values in a way that words alone cannot. The arts then, broad as the term is, are an important part of any culture. So, it should be properly maintained and at the same time should be flourished also.

So, in order to make the art flourished someone has to infuse funds into it. Now the question is who will do that? We have a various option but the best option will be if government provide the funds rather than the private aristocracy because they can only open doors for the art to flourish with the help of education or provide funds or by the advertisement. Even there should separate office for the art and culture that will help this field to nurture and flourished.

But the problem with the government funding that, this field will have complete dominance of government and they will rule this field as per there wish, for example, one government will take care of their art and culture very well but after the election another party won the election and form government and they have no interest in the art and culture or the government will focus or promote only one kind of the art. So, if this thing happens then the government became threatens to the integrity of the arts.

In sum, we say that the best possible way to flourish art is by direct indulgement of government in the funding of art, but there should a sense of freedom so that all sectors of the art and culture will flourish.