To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham

The author of the argument claims that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. To support his claim the author says that the number of enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years,

thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. The argument also points out that the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing and the students more likely to enroll at the dormitory.

To determine the validity of the argument, we must understand whether by building the new dormitory, the number of students will enroll in Buckingham college or not. To understand the effectiveness of the recommendation, it would be important to analyze whether the student will find it difficult to afford off-campus housing.

First, the director's recommendation to built new dormitories to serve the housing needs was based on the relationship between the rate of enrollment and the need for apartments in the dormitory. This assumption is completely illogical because enrollment in the university does not mean that the student who is enrolled in college will also enroll for dormitories. There might be possibilities that the students who enroll in colleges live nearby to the college and hence do not require an apartment to live in.

Secondly, the director's recommendation to built up new dormitories is based on the flawed data as he says that the number of enrollments will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate without providing any survey or document that will support his claim. And in general plans are based on three categories; short term plans for less than one year, medium plans around two years and finally long term plans are up to five to ten years. Therefore 50 years is a plan that is hard to be validated.

Thirdly, his recommendation on why the number of dormitories should increase is based on the student's unaffordability to off-campus housing as they are more expensive than living on-campus. But it is well known that most students prefer sharing apartments. It will be more interesting for friends and colleagues to be living together without supervisors and dormitories regulations. They will share together the rent, cost of food and everything which might be cheaper and affordable for them.

Finally, the director claim that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham does not make any sense at all because the students care a lot about the ratings and the quality of education, professors, and creditability of the colleges. So The director should not have based his assumption on this evidence.

In sum, the author's argument is based on the unconfirmed and unsubstantiated assumption. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we need more data and information about the points mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger, the authors need to outline, the real reason why the number of dormitories should build.