"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article determines the results on a study as people sleeping less than 6 hours per night are more efficient whereas this might not be the only reason that shall be considered. It is evident that the article is rife with holes of unstated assumptions, three of which are examined below to show that the article and the study holds no water.

First of all, the article lacks in many details of the study conducted. What was the male-female ratio? According to a survey in Boston many female employees or working women need to do home chores after their work keeping them up longer as compared to men. This plays an important role here as if the female in the 300 executives were more in number compared to men, then the result is completely biased and could not be set as a hiring criterion. the author also presumed that the 300 executives had a routine sleep schedule in progress, where as it is possible that many were up late due to some other reason like hot weather condition, which are completely irrelevant to their job profile but were counted for.

Second of all, the author assumed that the sleep factor is enough for the company to book profits and faster growth. Employees' dedication is one of the factors for growth on firm and higher profit margins. Factors like leadership, clients, deadlines, quality pf work matter in any corporate business.

Finally, the author wants to believe that the executes reported the truth about their sleeping schedule and were completely honest, which might not be true for all the people. The author did not share the test results as in what percentage of people voted for less than 6 hours of sleep. A result of 75%-25% ratio is not acceptable or more to say can hold grounds for his conclusion.

Hence the above stated assumptions of the author make the study, its result and the conclusion -’ These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.’ irrelevant and of no sense in predicting one sleep schedule and his company’s prosperity.