A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and the self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they "frequently" had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20% also reported that they had felt "sad, down, or blue" at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked with depression, and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

The argument concludes that spending to much time online leads to depression and limiting the time spent online helps to improve the well-being of the people. The conclusion is based on the premise related to a survey which shows that more the number of hours people spends online, more is the chance that they might suffer from depression. The conclusion is based on a number of assumptions, most of which are unwarranted.

First of all, the survey is conducted only on 250 adults between the ages of 30 to 45 and the conclusion is made based on their observation. But we are not sure whether we can generalize the depression issue based on a survey of mere 250 adults. It might be possible that the surveyed people were already suffering from depression due to some other factors like work pressure and family issues. The number of hours they spent online and the symptoms of depression seen on them might just be coincidence. The author has not talked about this clearly in the argument.

Furthermore, it is said that 20% of people who spend more than 30 hours per week online felt sad, down or blue within the past month. The author assumes that the people spending more than 30 hours per week online feels sad, down or blue. But we have no proof that spending time online is the sole factor causing sadness. It might be possible that they had some breakup issues with their loved one which might have led to depression in the past or they were already suffering from depression and forgot to take the medicine they were supposed to take during the period which might have made them feel sad, down and blue.

In addition, the author claims that to improve the well-being, people should strictly limit the time spent online. But, their are many other factors which can contribute to the well being rather than just limiting the time spent online. People can engage themselves in some recreational tasks, go out with family or friends on a vacation, attend a football match and so on to make them happy.

Although, spending a lot of time online might make one's mind dull as they continuously look at the screen, discarding the surrounding, it might not be the only reason for depression. And, to improve the well being people can get involved in many other activities rather than just limitng the time spent online. Thus, due to the lack of sufficient grounds presented by the author to prove the validity of the argument, I cannot agree with the conclusion.