Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Global climate change has been the burning issue since the last decade, or so. The unusual change in climatic conditions has been so unpredictable lately. The issue relates to the human population and their use of natural resources. People have been consuming, if not exploiting, the natural resources in a large amount. The issue presents that people should cut energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle and not exploiting the resources as a result of global climate change. I agree with the issue although such a drastic change in lifestyle, to make up for the current global climatic change, might not be guaranteed.

With the rapid growth of the human population, their needs and demands are ever so rising. To fulfill their needs, the first thing they consume is the natural resources around them. For instance, people rely on forests for the construction of houses which leads to deforestation. And as we all know deforestation eventually leads to global warming as the amount of oxygen produced decreases. If people could rely less on natural resources for fulfilling their basic needs by adjusting their lifestyle, then the problem of global climate change can be lessened to some extent.

In addition to the exploitation of forests, the rise in the human population also leads to an increase in the number of industries, factories, and urbanization. The industries consume a lot of natural resources and produce a huge amount of waste materials and harmful gases, which has a direct impact on global climate change. If people could live without extravagant demands for material goods being produced from factories, then the negative effect of such industries on the environment would be less as they will be running in lesser numbers. Further, if people could arrange their settlement in the countrysides and not exploiting the arable lands in the name of urbanization, natural resources could be protected which will have a positive impact on the global climate.

Although the change in people's lifestyles can have a great impact on global climate change, we are not quite sure whether today's humans would be able to change their living or not. Looking at the trend on the last two to three-decade, people have been accustomed to live in the state of adverse climatic conditions and would do a little in adjusting their lifestyle in response to the situation of the global ecosystem.

To sum up, the adverse effect of global climate change is rising day by day and soon our planet might become an unsuitable place to live. Thus, looking at the near future, people should change their current lifestyle and rely less on natural resources for sustainment.