Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Global climate change has been the burning issue since the last decade, or so. The unusual change in climatic condition has been so unpredictable lately. The issue relates to the human population and their use of natural resources. People have been consuming, if not exploiting, the natural resources in a large amount. The issue presents that the people should reduce the energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle rather than exploiting the resources as a result of global climatic change. I agree with the issue although such drastic change in lifestyle, to make up for the current global climatic change, might not guarranted.

With the rapid growth of human population, their needs and demands are ever so rising. To fulfill their needs, the first thing they consume is the natural resources around them. For instance, people rely on forests for construction of houses which leads to deforestation. And as we all know deforestation eventually leads to global warming as the amount of oxygen produced decreases. If people could rely less on natural resources for fulfilling their basic needs by adjusting their lifestyle, then the problem of global climate change can be lessened to some extent.

In addition to exploitation of forests, rise in human population also leads to increase in the number of industries, factories and urbanization. The industries consumes a lot of natural resources and also produces a huge amount of waste materials and harmful gases, which has direct impact on global climate change. If people could live without extravagant demands for material goods being produced from factories, then the negative effect of such industries on environment would be less as they will be running in lesser numbers. Further, if people could arrange their settlement in countrysides rather than exploiting the arable lands in the name of urbanization, natural resources could be protected which will have positive impact on global climate.

Although, the change in people's lifestyle can have great impact on global climate change, we are not quite sure whether today's human would be able to change their living or not. Looking at the trend on last two to three decade, people have been accustomed to live in the state of adverse climatic conditions and would do a little in adjusting their lifestyle in response to the situation of the global ecosystem.

To sum up, the adverse effect of global climate change is rising day by day and soon our planet might become an unsuitable place to live. Thus, looking at the near future, people should change their current lifestyle and rely less on natural resources for sustainment.