"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author concludes that the marketing department needs to allocate a greater share of its budget to reaching the public through advertising so that the number of viewers rises. The conclusion is based on the premise that although the movies do not lack in quality, many prospective viewers are unaware of the availability of good quality movies. The argument, although seems plausible, is based on many unwarranted assumptions made by the author. We discuss the validity of such assumptions below.

First of all, the author assumes that the review is given by the small number of viewers actually portrays the movie's real quality. It might be possible that the reviewers liked the certain aspects and scenes of the movies, that reflected their own life and reviewed the movie as a good one. It might also be possible that the musicians watching the movies loved the songs instead of the movie. The author has not taken these factors into account. We cannot be sure that the large portion of viewers will actually like the movies based on the review of others. It might also be possible that these viewers were forced to give positive reviews by the movie makers because the number of viewers was declining. In such a case, the real quality of the movie is hidden behind the smokescreen of fake reviews.

Similarly, the author assumes that if the public is aware of the availability of good quality movies, the number of viewers will increase. It might be possible that many of them already know about the movie's high quality but did not want to attend the movie because they had no interest in such movies. The movie taste of reviewers and the prospective viewers might not match at all which does not lead to an increase in the number of viewers as assumed by the author. We can see the examples of many blockbuster movies available today which we know about their quality but insist on attending them because we have no interest in their content. The author's assumption clearly fails in such cases.

Likewise, the author assumes that increasing the budget for advertisement will make the quality of the movie known to all. But he does not talk about the kind of advertisement they will be able to prepare. Simply increasing the budget might not be enough to prepare better advertisements and even if the advertisements are good enough, people simply might not be willing to attend the movie just because they do not want to. In such a case, the advertisement clearly fails and the money goes into waste.

In sum, the awareness of the availability of good quality movies might increase the number of viewers if the reviews are not fake and people actually attend the movie after knowing that such movies are available. But, the author has not addressed the possible issues presented above. Thus, the author's argument seems plausible but its validity is skeptical as it is based on many unwarranted assumptions.