Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Online "blogosphere" provides a platform to publish political opinions easily which certainly impacts the quality of political discourse in the United States. As one can find the political news and the discussion on political topics with ease in online medium, a few would bother researching by themselves on the topic. This undermines the quality of political discourse which once used to consists of pure logic and creativity of the person involved the process.

These days it has become easy to publish political opinions easily via online medium. Anyone with the access to internet is free to express his/her opinion without little discord from the outsiders. Noone is going to object on what is written until they have been read. Such freedom can result in the illogical and obscure political opinions. If similar opinions is put forward into discussion in a mass of people, there will immediately be objection from some of the people concerned which doesn't allow illogical political opinions to be regarded as true.

Further, as political opinions are easily available in the internet posted by many people, many would rather steal the writing of others in the name of being popular. They would be disinclined toward writing something on their own which leads to lack of creativity in the political opinions. As people find it easy to discuss regarding the topics in online medium, such as in comments and chats, there will be less interaction between people which hinders the possibility of innovative idea being discovered. Had the same conversation been done in real time, there would have been better discussion and the end result would be fruitful.

Online blogosphere has made people lazy as they can write anything lying on the corner of a room. Had they travelled to places to cover news on political topics, they would have met many people on the way and who knows, whether they also share the same idea. This would lead to a fruitful conversation and might give birth to a new political idea. Thus, the online medium, although have their fare share of advantage, has weakened the quality of political discourse to a great extent.