A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and the self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 ho

The author the argument attempts to establish a relation between a use of a online media and a peoples healthy and satisfied life. However the author fails to provide a substantiate evidences. The conclusion provided by the author regarding one should limit the time spent online and relation of it with the depression is however unwarranted with sufficient evidences

Firstly, the author mentions only 250 adults in a survey, while the result concluded from a such a small population cannot be generalised to a whole. The smaller the sample population size, higher the erroneous and superflaws in results. Also the purpose of use of internet is highly different among many people. It may be obvious the people get depression with the use of medias like facebooks and they use to live highly monotonous life living inside a confined space in a room of a house. While, some may use the internet in a highly productive way like educational, learning, communication, innovative purposes.

Secondly, the author mentions a age class of 30 to 45 and make a false commensuration in conclusion by generalising the result to whole class of people. What about the remaining people of other age class? Thus, author fails to provide sufficient evidences Also, a result of depression in a 20 % of people out of surveyed population cannot be concluded as a depression is related with online time spent. There may be different issues in their life like a family issues, financial issues, bosses issues in company etc.

Moreover, rathar online media is itself a media to get free from depression. A highly depressed and frustrated person with his workload can find a efficient way to finish work in a internet and may find other recreational videos and movie to regale himself. A solitude student far from home feeling homesickness can easily communicate with his/her friends and his/her family that will make him feel better.

Finally, contrast to the conclusion of the argument, the person who want to improve their well being have many other options with them, not just only by cutting off their time spent online.People can go to travel, movies, sports, swimming, vacation which are far better options to free stress in a people life. He can also surf down the internet to find a way to get rid of depression.

To conclude, the author should have provided more evidences to prove right his/her fact and study. Past datas of the similar studies would also have made a argument plausible.