A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they "frequently" had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20% also reported that they had felt "sad, down, or blue" at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked with depression, and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Depression is consuming the whole world like a plague. There are many causes of this mental disease. Too much stress is one of them. And several cases has been reported linking the disease with the time spent over internet as in the given statement. On the basis of a survey conducted within only 250 people of particular age group a profound claim has been maid that to improve the well being, one should cut off the online hours. The claim is bizarre just by the tone of it. Without proper study and backing with some real tough evidences and based on too much incomplete premises and wrong considerations or fallacies, the claim had been made.

On the first glance the claim seems valid but when looked upon with careful eyes numerous fallacies are seen. The first being the survey, Survey is a very board term, the results vary and depend on too many variable which cannot be accounted all the times. The sample size is a important factor in any survey. In any case , 250 is a very low sample size let alone on this very delicate topic. Again we do not know any cases of the history of the test samples. Their past medical history should be carefully looked upon before they can be tested. What if they are already suffering from depression or any other mental disease. So, to make the board claim valid, the proper examination of the medicals report of the past is a prerequisite.

Again, other fallacy is considering the symptoms such as sadness and difficult in concentrating as clear cut depression. There is no evidence stating their family background, or what they do before going online, is there any other problem hunting them such as family crisis or economic breakdown. Such cases has a similar effect on human mind and cause sadness and other associated problem which may look similar to depression but are not. To be sure that all these symptoms are clearly and only related with depression and online usage the other factors such as family status, economic and social status must be examined.

Moving ahead, the claim is more of a generalized one. The results are enforced upon all age groups while the test was done upon a particular age group of 30-45. Due to the differences in age and attitude the results on older group may be totally opposite to the younger groups. At the age of 30-45 not only the 30 hour or more internet usage but any other thing can give you mental stress resulting upon depression. At this age people tend to take everything seriously and the brain may not be able to take the toile and may give away. But in young ages not only 30 but even 50 hours of internet per week may not have any effect on them. Even the positive results may arise and in such cases the claim is totally pompous or circumspect. For the claim to have more weight, people from all age groups must be included and if the results are similar among all age groups, the internet and 30 hour internet usage may be declared culprit.

In conclusion, it is likely to think that more internet weekly may be the cause of depression. However, the claim cannot be justified with the given premises. The sample size is too small, they must be broadened, people from all age group must be included. For the assumption that if one result worked out for one age group, it will be valid for all is not correct. so, even the results leads to assuming that less online hours definitely improve the health cannot be hold true for all the cases due to lack of evidences.