A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The argument claims that according to the twenty years of study made, the headaches suffered by people of Mentia can be lessened by more use of salicylates as food additives etc. Stated in this way , the argument fails to mention several key factors on the bases of which it could be evaluated.The conclusion relies on some assumptions for which there is no cogent evidences. The argument is rather weak,unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly,the argument states that salicyaltes are members of the same family as asprin. As we all know asprins are used to cure headaches as they act as pain killers. salicylates , even though they belong to same family as asprins, they might have some variation in their chemical compositions and therefore, may have many side effects. For example, they may fix the headache but only for certain period of time or they may lead to other health problems like allergy. Excessive use of these tablets may also work as a slow poison and cause some serious diseases related to heart, brain and lungs etc. This statement could have been much clearer if it implicated the probity of this medicine over other pain killers.

Secondly, the argument conveys that many of the foods are naturally rich in salicylates and in addition to that food-processing companies use salicylates as food preservatives. As most of the foods already have salicylates , the food-processing companies should avoid using salicyaltes. Because excessive use of anything can be harmful and also may have reverse effects. They should make a proper tests before using more quantity of it in food.

Furthermore, twenty years of study concluded that there is a correlation between the rise in commercial use of salicyaltes and in the average number of headaches reported by study participants.However, this test was made against some participants. What I mean is, one can argue that, the residents of Mentia may include people who might have other health issues and increasing the intake of salicylate may cause some adverse effect of their diet and health. On the other hand,

study was made on some people who might not involve people of all ages.For example, teenagers may not get effected as much as adults. Hence, this implies that argument fails to provide proper evidences and also contains many flaws.

Finally, Using salicylates as food additives doesn't seems to be a good idea to me. As we already use many food additives and they have their own effects one can think of avoiding addition of another such additive. Instead of this approach, people should think of natural ways to come out of such headaches and any other health issues. First of all, the argument fails to mention the cause of headache. I think one should root cause the issue before finding the solution to it.

Further, to conclude, one can say that using drug might be the immediate and easy solution to the headaches and many such issues. But one should avoid using them unless and until it is highly necessary. And also one should make a proper research before taking a decision of using it as food additives. Instead, people have to think of natural remedies like yoga, meditation, cycling, avoiding stress etc. Hence, the argument could have been much clearer if there were proper facts and evidences to support the necessity of salicylates.