A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a use correlation between the rise in the commercial of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The results of a recent study indicated that a chemical compound known as salycilates can be beneficial in treating headache cases in Mentia’s residents. Although the line of reasoning might seem cogent in general, there are critical questions to be answered, all of which can affect the conclusion and the integrity of the argument.

Firstly, the main question is that how similar is salycilates to aspirin and other members of this family? While chemical compounds in a family might have similar properties in terms of shape, color, and chemical bonds, it is possible that they act entirely different in human body. Likewise, this specific compound might have serious permanent side effects in the long-term use which means that responsible organizations such as FDA will not permit its commercial use. The answer of this important question can affect the final prediction of the argument. If this compound is different than aspirin, people in Mnetia will not consume it in the future. As a result, a possible reduction in the number of headache cases cannot be imputed to salycilates.

Secondly, this argument is mainly based on a twenty-year study. In order to consider this study as a valid source of information, one question should be answered. Is the results of this study reliable and generalizable to the future? If the number of samples are not large enough, the results can be misleading. In addition, other factors such as age, chronic diseases, and environmental factors can affect the integrity of this study. For example, it is possible that a large proportion of headache cases were related to air pollution and industrial waste in 20 years ago. However, due to eliminating these factors, by imposing modern waste disposal systems and absorbing filters, people nowadays suffer form fewer headache cases. In fact, answering to the aforementioned question can weaken the argument altogether. If the sampling is reliable enough, we can assume that the prediction is valid. On the other hand, if the study is not vigorous enough, we can attribute a possible reduction in headache cases to other external factors.

Thirdly, a question about the mentioned plan can help us to evaluate the argument more effectively. Are those companies planning to add salycilate to their products, will execute this plan? First of all, implementing this plan can be quite costly. Applying for official approval as well as new machines can deter those companies from pursuing this project. Moreover, we should ask that how much popular are these foods among people living in Menatia? It is probable that the residents of this place are more inclined to consume fresh foods. Therefore, adding salycilates to processed food will not affect the health situation of these people.

To conclude, there are several important questions about this argument, all of which can either weaken or strengthen the presented line of reasoning. Until providing comprehensive answers to those questions, the argument is not sufficiently reliable.