17. The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As the listeners of WWAC radio has decreased recently, the managers decided to change their broadcasting music from rock to more suitable genres to older people migrating to this area after retirement. Moreover, as a result of a descending trend of music’s sell numbers, the owners are considering to switch their work from music to news and talk show radio. Even though the reasoning may seem cogent in general, the writer is skeptical of the argument These decisions are made based on some unclear statistics. The more shreds of evidence gathered, the more decision-making process effective. In the following paragraphs, some of these missed pieces will be mentioned.

To begin, a precise inquiry about demographic trends in the area could be helpful. If the data demonstrate that the number of old people in increasing more than usual, the decisions about radio can be justified. On the other hand, if population proportions based on age hasn’t changed significantly, other reasons should be assessed to analyze the situation. Additionally, a thorough research about music preferences among different age groups can help the owners to tailor their programs more accurately. If the majority of people love a specific kind of music, the radio can play this type at the most of times rather than eliminating other genres altogether. So, additional demographic and musical taste information can be beneficial in this argument.

Furthermore, the trends of listeners in similar radio stations in the region are a big conducive tool. If other radios confront the same plummeting number of listeners, a change in the type of playing songs or programs are not a permanent solution. Conversely, if this downward experience is exclusive for WWCA, the managers should consider the suggested options more seriously. Moreover, the status of other news and talk show radios are another important factor in the line of reasoning. Do these stations have enough listeners? Are they experiencing a negative reaction from their followers? Answering these question can challenge or support the proposed choices based on their directions.

Another vague aspect of the argument is about declining trend of selling music. Although this trend might be true, it can’t be used in justification of changing station agenda. While a change in musical taste can be the reason of buying less music from stores, there are other reasons. Online stores, for example, are a convenient way of purchasing music nowadays. Online radio stations are a powerful rival of traditional ones either. Considering these factors can strengthen the rationality of the argument or vice versa.

To sum up, additional demographic information along with the favorite genre of music in each age groups can improve the image of the facing problem. Data about similar musical radios and even news and talk show radios can be informative as well. Based on the current pieces of evidence, the writer stays very dubious about the argument at best.