The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership plays a key role in modern societies. In order to be a successful leader, a person should have certain qualities. It is asserted that a society should strengthen cooperation in their possible future leaders instead of competition. I agree that having collaboration can benefit a community in general. However, sometimes competition can reveal the true potential of leaders.

To begin with, having cooperation can be beneficial in several ways. First of all, when people with different intentions and viewpoints cooperate, they can address a certain issue with more effectiveness. For example, consider a situation in which a certain group of government officials are going to make a decision about immigrants. If people from different cultural background are within this group, the decision making process can be more accurate. Likewise, if an immigrant is among the officials, this group can use his or her experience in order to consider all the consequences of their final decision. Second of all, usually leaders are not familiar with certain fields such as economics. As a result, leader need to establish close relationships with experts in the aforementioned fields. Clearly, having a high sense of cooperation can intensify these relations so that leaders can use the expertise of other influential officials. More importantly, having strong cooperation can improve the image of leaders in the eye of their followers. This phenomenon is more tangible in political field, though. If people construe that their leaders are eager to collaborate with other officials, they feel that the leaders are more trustworthy.

However, having cooperation in certain fields is more important. For instance, leaders of sport teams should motivate their teammates in order to show their superior performance. Similarly, having collaboration in scientific fields is quite essential. For example, a team of researchers should be able to communicate and cooperate with each other to achieve a certain goal.

On the other hand, having tight competitions can be beneficial for specific reasons. Some people are not able to manifest their true potential unless they feel a competition. This is true especially for politic aspirants. When this people enter into an election campaign, they start to show their hidden talents. Likewise, having qualified rivals can stimulate some people to set more ambitious goals through which they can improve their societies.

To sum up, having a sense of cooperation seems mandatory for future leaders. However, providing healthy competitions might also be useful to unleash the true power of young people who are eager to be a leader.