Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is suggested that governments should allocate the funding of arts to more challenging sections such as unemployment and hunger. Although the statement might seem quite convincing, I take the view that the government should support art since it is a significant aspect of any prosperous society. Governments should also find permanent solutions for the mentions issues.

Firstly, art plays a key role in modern societies. First of all, artists are able to preserve and propagate their cultural heritage via pieces of art such as paintings, movies, poets, and so on. Second of all, presenting products in the art section in galleries can attract professional tourists to visit them closely. This feature of art can produce substantial amounts of monetary benefits to a country. In addition, art can improve the social awareness of people. The public can understand the most influential social problems by watching a movie. Likewise, a specific gallery about working children can instigate social campaigns to help them in terms of money and shelter. So, art is significant enough to be considered as an inseparable part of governmental financial aids.

Secondly, the share of funding allotted to arts is insignificant in many countries. The USA, for instance, earmarked about 0.5 percent of its gross domestic product (GDP) to art section in 2016. Likewise, the share of art galleries and their related organizations only comprised 1 percent of the total budget in the UK in 2017. Therefore, the amount of money allocated to support art is not comparable to other sections such as national defense.

Thirdly, large amounts of money are squandered in certain sections annually. For example, countries underwrite their defense section by allocating more than 50 percent of their total GDP in order to buy new equipment as well as mass destruction weapons. However, the outcome of these supports are not very tangible, and even if they can produce any results, they are death and horror. Moreover, political campaigns receive ever-increasing financial aids from governments during election season. The effectiveness of these budgets on improving routine problems such as unemployment and hunger is not clear, though.

Finally, governments must seek permanent and viable solutions for their challenging situations such as high rates of unemployed people. Creating stable job positions as well as imposing new policies such as reducing taxes can address this important problem very effectively. Governments can reduce their defense budgets to help poor people to find a better job, and eventually to have access to healthy foods. A reduction in financial aids to political institutions can bring about a more equitable society, too.

To sum up, since art can benefit the economy and the society, governments should support it unconditionally. Reducing unnecessary budgets from other sections such as military and politics and allocating them to social welfare part can help governments to manage unemployment and hunger more easily.