The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The new lifestyle has changed markedly in the recent years in many aspects. For example, the pace of life has increased so rapidly that it has affected several fundamental facets of our daily lives. It is stated that this change has been more detrimental than beneficial. The writer agrees with this statement in general. However, this new pace of life has facilitated certain daily activities such as communication.

Firstly, in order to keep up with the fast lifestyle, people have changed their daily behaviors in several aspects. For example, using private cars is an inseparable part of the new lifestyle. As a result, people in big cities should spend several hours in traffic jams. Not only this new phenomenon can instigate higher levels of stress, but also it can increase the chance of fatal diseases such as lung cancer. In addition, people have to work up to 12 hours on a daily basis. Hence, they do not have enough time for cooking foods. As a result, they have opted to fast foods which are the main culprit for different health problems. Obesity, for instance, is a direct result of excessive consumption of junk foods. This busy schedule has led people to decrease their physical activities, too. So, a vast majority of people are suffering from serious physical problems.

Secondly, the emotional aspect of people’s lives has also affected by the high pace of life. Since people spend less time together, they have difficulties in establishing effective communications with each other. This situation can cause serious consequences. For example, in many modern societies, the rate of divorce is rocketing. Although some people might attribute this trend to economic and cultural problems, I take the view that it is directly related to the new lifestyle. Likewise, people in families are spending less and less time with each other. Parents are working in different organizations in order to make enough monetary support for their family members. Children are also busy with social media and their school assignments, too. So, the family members are becoming more and more alienated from each other due to the ever-increasing pace of life.

However, this new pace of life has improved specific aspects of people’s lives. For example, they can communicate with one another quite easily via the Internet and social media. Not only these new outlets have provided excellent opportunities for ordinary people to stay in touch with their loved ones, but also they have provided a remarkable medium for sharing scientific ideas. As a result, more knowledgeable people are able to collaborate with other people living in other continents to solve the most challenging problems of modern life such as finding a cure for AIDS.

To sum up, the high pace of life has created various problems in modern societies. Health problems such as obesity and high rates of cancer and emotional challenges are the most tangible ramifications of this significant change. However, the new lifestyle has enhanced the communication of people very effectively.