The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People can enhance the status of a society by the help of questioning its authorities. This claim seems to be true in many aspects. There are some complexities and considerations in this process, though. Different aspects of this issue will be reviewed in the following article.

To begin with, the nature of this questioning methods should be defined in an organized framework. Then, this right must be followed by standard procedures through organizations such as NGOs. These actions can guarantee the accuracy and effectiveness of asking people in charge about their intentions and actions. Conversely, if anyone tries to pursue this goal individually, there will be a chaos in the society instead of the assumed improved situation. On the other hand, authorities should feel responsible in terms of giving clear and valid information to the public. If powerful people lack this conviction, no matter how hard the people try to achieve an answer from them, this whole process would be a futile effort. So, formal procedures and moral grounds are two inseparable parts of a good plan in order to facilitate the flow of information between people in high power positions and ordinary people.

Additionally, following this objective can be beneficial in preventing many other disasters. Dictatorship, for instance, is a direct result of lack of questioning and answering in a vivid way from different levels of a society. Likewise, the process of questioning can eliminate high degrees of debauchery in the government and other parts of a society. If people in power feel they are under the watch of the society, they will take a deep breath before making a decision, taking an action, etc. This hesitation stems from this fact that they are aware of consequences of their behavior. So, questions from people are helpful in several aspects.

Moreover, social benefits from the suggested policy are tremendous. For example, there is an imaginary wall between people in lower positions and people in charge. Although this wall seems to be impermeable, the questions from society can break it apart gradually. The nature of this wall will transform from stone to glass. In addition, everyone in the society feels to be powerful and responsible for his future. While in irresponsible regimes the voice of opposites is suppressed, in a healthy society, thanks to clear question and answer between people and authorities, dissenters can speak up loudly.

Admittedly, the mentioned benefits are highly dependent on several factors, some of which are vital. Suggested public organizations should represent all point of views within a society. The relation of these institutions with the people in charge should be as clear as possible. If these conditions lack, the expected results could not be obtained. Furthermore, some matters are classified and directly related to security of a nation. Talking about these issues should be done with the most caution. So, improving the status of a society has several facets, some of which are conflicting sometimes.

To sum up, the right of questioning authorities has several positive reflections. Of course, some conditions should be provided in order to achieve this highly favored goal. This policy is related to both people and authorities, though.