A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

In the argument, health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future based on a twenty-year study and recent trends in food-processing companies. The study indicates a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants in Mentia, while recent trends show food-processing companies are planning to use more salicylates in their products. Though tempting to draw conclusions based on the presented facts, there are questions regarding the reliability of the study conducted, situations in Mentia during the twenty years when the study is conducted, and food-processing companies' decisions that need to be addressed carefully in order to evaluate the prediction.

The first question that needs to be answered is the validity of the study conducted. We are merely presented the time span of the study conducted, yet we know nothing about the actual data acquired during the time span. For example, the study might actually be dormant for several years due to technical issues that prevented researchers to conduct experiments. Also, the number of study participants might be very low or not all headaches are correctly reported. In either case above, the study might not be able to gain an adequate amount of statistically reliable data, rendering the results of the study unrepresentative.

Secondly, we must also answer questions about the situations in Mentia during the twenty years when the study is conducted. Though the study indicates a positive correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants, we cannot deduce a cause-and-effect relationship between the two matters unless other causes are ruled out. For example, we must ask whether residents in Mentia adopted a more healthy diet and lifestyle that cures headaches. Furthermore, it is also important to know if Mentia residents often buy processed foods that contain salicylates. If residents all adopt a healthy diet and seldom buy processed foods, it is obvious that the reason headache reports declined is not due to the increased use of salicylates.

Finally, we need to know more about food-processing companies' decisions. For example, we need to know if food-processing companies are planning to add other chemicals to their products. If they are adding substances that might exacerbate headaches, then the effects of salicylates might simply be diminished. Also, it is useful to know what products food companies are adding salicylates in. If salicylates are added in products that are seldom bought by customers, the positive effects of salicylates might be limited.

In conclusion, we must answer the above questions to justifiably conclude that the predictions of health experts are valid.