It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

One of the largest questions for us to answer throughout our lives is self-identification. Understanding why we are valued and being included in a group is essential for our mental health and personality development. As far as I'm concerned, through our identification with social groups we can define ourselves in some aspects. For example, through identification with friends, clubs, and people with similar interests, we can find partnerships and enjoy a sense of exclusiveness. Also, through identification in workplaces and academia such as interaction with our managers, colleagues, and customers, we can understand that our work is valued. Nevertheless, we also largely depend on our interaction with primary groups, such as families and partners, to define ourselves, since we can act as our true selves in front of them.

Identifying with social groups is no doubt a crucial way to define ourselves. For example, through identification with friends or people with similar hobbies, we can find partnerships and enjoy a sense of exclusiveness. We often become friends with others become we have the same hobbies or interests. Through initial clannish behaviors like playing games and sports together, we eventually develop a closer and stronger bond with our friends and can start discussing school, love, work, and even more private matters. These bonds help us understand that we are being trusted and can foster self-identity.

Secondly, for those working in industries or scientists in academia, it is important for them to define themselves through their work and interaction with their colleagues. For example, it is most important for an engineer throughout his career to creating useful tools or applications for society. Through brainstorming and cooperation with his colleagues, he can feel included and his knowledge valued while developing a love for his work. Through reports and discussions with his managers, he can feel that his expertise is well respected and is put to good use. These interactions play a great role in self-identification and can help users define ourselves as contributors to society.

However, social groups are not the only source for self-identification. Through identifying with primary groups consisting of significant others such as families and partners, we can define ourselves by expressing our true feelings to them. When interacting with social groups, we might restrain our thoughts when it comes to contentious topics such as politics, religion, and ideologies since we are afraid that these discussions might lead to debates and harm our relationship with others. However, when we are with our families, we can freely express and discuss our opinions on various topics because family bonds are tight and can sustain debates. Through these candid interactions, we can further define ourselves by realizing our own perspectives.

In conclusion, I believe, though not primarily, we do define ourselves through our identification with social groups. Identifying with friends can make us feel included while identifying with colleagues at work can make us feel valued. On the other hand, identifying with primary groups such as families and partners are also very important since we can truly be ourselves in front of them.