The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

In every field of endeavor, there will always be someone who is regarded as the best and his or her greatness and legacy recognized. However, the time when the fame and recognition are decided may vary in different fields. As far as I'm concerned, it is not true that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them but not by their contemporaries. For example, in fields such as sports and businesses where standards for greatness are more clearly defined, the achievements of leaders and athletes can easily be recognized by their contemporaries. However, in fields such as arts and literature, the greatness of individuals is often gauged more impartially by those who live after them.

For leaders of enterprises, their greatness can be easily be defined by their customers, rivals, and stakeholders. For example, a successful company leader can earn reverence from their rivals since he or she secured a position in a competitive field of business. The customer's support and the revenue the company generates from its products is also an effective gauge of the ability of a companies leader. Take Apple, the most iconic brand of smartphones, as an example, its commercial success is great due to the charisma and visa of founder Steve Jobs.

When it comes to sports, the achievements of outstanding athletes are so conspicuous that their greatness can also be defined by their contemporaries. For example, the greatness of Michael Jordan can easily be defined by his spectacular achievements in the NBA, where he led the Chicago Bulls to win the championship 6 times while accumulated numerous individual awards such as Most Valuable Player. The greatness of Michael Phelps can also be judged by his contemporaries since his unbelievable and record-breaking 8 gold medals in the Olympics is historically unparalleled.

However, for fields such as arts and literature where the standard of greatness is constantly changing, it is harder for contemporaries to gauge an individual's greatness. The artistic and literary trends might differ from time to time, and sometimes artists' and writers' contemporaries might not appreciate their work. For example, Edgar Allen Poe is now widely regarded as one of the monumental figures in horror fiction and gothic writing, yet he was never an acclaimed writer at his time and even died in poverty. When it comes to painters, Van Gough's raw emotions in his paintings were greatly valued by critics nowadays, yet he didn't receive much fame and wealth when he was still alive.

In conclusion, I believe in some fields, especially those with a standard gauge for greatness, the greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries. However, for fields such as arts and literature, standards are constantly evolving and remain malleable, so the greatness of individuals can only be decided by those who live after them.