If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Throughout our lives, we continuously set goals, either long-term or short-term, and strive to achieve them. Other than individuals, companies set goals to generate revenue and governments set goals to provide a safe environment for its citizens. However, the means taken to achieve these goals should be carefully evaluated. As far as I'm concerned, even if a goal is worthy, not all means taken to attain it are justifiable. The means should cause no harm to society, abide by the law and moral standards, and should not entail disproportionate costs.

Firstly, the means taken to achieve a goal should not cause great harm to society. One obvious example is terrorism, such as the Islamic State. In order to construct a religious order they deem as worthy, this zealous religious group deliberately conducted numerous car bomb attacks around the world while controlling parts of the Middle East through a cruel dictatorship. They certainly view their goals as worthy, yet they caused massive destruction to the world and inflicted many people, hence their actions are not regarded as justifiable.

Also, goals should also be achieved through abiding by laws and conforming to moral standards. Since laws and morals help maintain order in society, it is important that our actions don't transgress them. For example, generating revenue is obviously a worthy goal for companies. However, they must conform to environmental laws who prevent them from causing pollution. Also, they shouldn't engage in fraudulent behaviors that flout enterprise ethics such as false advertisement. If a company's success is a result of flouting laws and morals, their justifiability to operate in society will be undermined.

Finally, the means taken to attain goals should not entail disproportionate costs. Take the atomic bombing in Japan at the end of WW2 as an example. Though the goal is to end WW2 which is certainly worthy, this action engendered grave problems such as malformation of babies in the bombing site. People may argue that sometimes sacrifice must be made to achieve some difficult goals. Since this is true, we should do our best to weigh in all the factors and think of the measures that do not entail great costs to society.

In conclusion, the means taken to attain goals is not unqualified. Namely, these measures need to be harmless to society, follows moral standards and law, while not entailing great disproportionate costs.