The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the planning department of an electric power company argues that construction of new generating plants will not be necessary based on recent household surveys that reflect a trend in conserving energy, the advent of new products that are more energy-efficient, and the emergence of technologies for energy reduction. The author concludes that the demand for electricity will decrease and current power plants are sufficient to provide adequate electricity. Nevertheless, several unfounded assumptions are made throughout the argument, rendering it unconvincing as it stands.

The first assumption that the author makes is that electricity demand only comes from households. The planning department concludes that the total demand for electricity in the area will not increase because homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. However, there might be other establishments in the area that might have a significant demand for electricity. Movie theaters, restaurants, schools, and other facilities all need electricity to function properly. Many factories, especially aluminum plants, need large amounts of electricity to generate currents and refine metals. Hence, the decrease in household electricity demand might be offset by the large demand for other establishments.

Citing recent surveys, the author argues that households' increasing inclination to conserve energy implies that energy demand would decrease. Yet this claim is based on the assumption that the number of households remained constant throughout the years. It is simple math that total demand is a function of individual demand and the total number of individuals. Even if individuals are more willing to conserve energy, a larger population increase could still increase the total demand for energy consumption.

Finally, the author assumes that the demand for home appliances remained the same throughout the years. However, if the demand for home appliances such as refrigerators and air conditioners increased, then their energy reduction might not contribute to total energy consumption. If households started to use those home appliances prodigally, such as turning on air conditioners for a long period, the demand for electricity might also increase.

In conclusion, the author needs to corroborate the above assumptions to make a valid conclusion.