In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Untrammeled by conventional wisdom, amateurs and beginners in different fields sometimes propose quixotic ideas that could potentially bolster the advancement of that field. It is reasonable to wonder whether, in any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. As far as I'm concerned, this is generally not the case, especially when it comes to rigorous studies such as math, physics, and other natural sciences. Beginners are also unlikely to surpass seasoned experts in academic fields that require practical experiences such as politics. However, when it comes to music and arts, the minds that remain pristine and unshackled might indeed make great contributions.

For sciences such as math and physics that require rigorous reasoning and extensive background knowledge, beginners are unlikely to make crucial contributions since experts are far more familiar with the relevant domain knowledge. For example, one cannot simply come up with the law of relativity or theorem of quantum mechanics if he or she is not familiar with the most basic law of physics - Newton's Law of Gravity. Math amateurs also cannot simply prove Fermat's Last theorem without knowing how to calculate algebra. Since laws and theorems in these sciences all require much background knowledge to be discovered and its validity needs to be rigorously tested, amateurs who only know the basics cannot possibly make great contributions compared to the experts that immerse themselves in more advanced knowledge.

In the field of politics, beginners also cannot compare with the shrewd and experienced experts when it comes to making important contributions. Since political acumen is accumulated through multiple successes and failures and honed through multiple campaigns throughout a politician's life, the naivete of political amateurs is in fact a disadvantage. Also, the connections with interest groups, NGOs, and constituents that politicians secured during his or her campaigns need to be strengthened through time. Since beginners in politics are unlikely to gain these resources in a short amount of time, experts are more likely to make important contributions.

However, in fields such as art and music, amateurs or beginners can contribute greatly since they are often unaware of the conventional restraints and can, therefore, express their raw emotions and talents freely. Take the famous French-American artist and sculptor Nikki de Saint Falle as an example. Without any formal training as an artist, her iconic series of sculptures under the title "Nana" stirred up wide discussion among 20th-century artists and can be seen in various parks nowadays. The eye-catching features of her sculptures were unconstrained by conventional aesthetics and were one of the reasons why her works were considered groundbreaking.

In conclusion, I don't think that in any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. This might hold true for arts and music, but for rigorous sciences such as math and science and fields that require practical experience, experts are more likely to make crucial contributions.