Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

As our society becomes more and more industrialized, with roads, skyscrapers, and factories consuming lands and vitiating habitats of animal species, how to strike a balance between nature preservation and industrial development has become a widely-discussed question. As far as I'm concerned, society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities. Since nations' and governments' resources and budgets are not unbounded, we must use this money efficiently and effectively. Moreover, natural extinction is simply an outgrowth of competition according to Darwin's theory in evolution, and our interference may cause negative effects on the environment.

Since a society's resource is limited, we must carefully distribute these resources so that it is used most effectively. Saving all endangered species certainly has negative effects on a society's overall development. There is a myriad of problems modern societies face today, one of which is the most urgent is poverty. Many people are living in abysmal situations where they experience hunger, lack of health resources, and sordid living environments. If society spends most of its effort and money in saving all endangered species, these grave problems might fail to be addressed.

Other than negative effects on human society, saving all endangered species might also have bad consequences on the environment as well. According to Darwin's theory about evolution, extinction is simply a result of competition in the natural world. Adaptive and robust species survive while feeble species are extirpated. This mechanism strikes a balance between natural resource and species diversity. If we try to play god and save all endangered species, we might vitiate this natural mechanism of competition and engender unknown turbulences. Hence, we should only try to restore this balance by saving endangered species whose potential extinction of those species is the result of our activities.

However, even though it is uneconomical, unnatural, and impossible to save all endangered species, we should still think of ways to strike a balance between natural preservation and social development. For example, there have been continuous efforts to integrate sustainable energies such as solar power into factories and develop biofuels that don't have negative impacts on the environment. Furthermore, we can also try to combine nature preservation and economic development to create a sustainable industry such as eco-friendly tourism. These efforts show that even if we don't save all endangered species, natural preservation and social development can still be progress in harmony.

In conclusion, I believe it is unnecessary to save all endangered species. We should only actively protect these species if their potential extinction is the result of human activities since society's resource is limited and we must not try to destroy the balance of natural competition. Nevertheless, it is still important that we create a sustainable society and make sure technology and social development does not destroy nature.