In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

In college education, we are often allowed to freely choose courses we are interested in to participate. One of the reasons colleges aim to provide a wide variety of courses ranging from science to arts is because one of the goals of college education is to encourage students to become well-rounded individuals. Nevertheless, I do not think all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature. Since students often select courses based on their interests and career prospects, colleges should not require students to enroll in certain courses. However, colleges can recommend these courses to students since imaginative literature sure has certain merits regarding the mental development of individuals.

Reasons why students enroll in colleges can differ greatly. Some are unsure about their future and hopes to broaden their horizons and explore different possibilities in colleges. For these students, courses about imaginative literature might help them get a glimpse about the world of writing and arts and can help them decide their careers and interests. On the other hand, some students are already certain about what they want to pursue and choose to dedicate themselves to a certain field. Requiring these students to enroll in courses where they read imaginative literature can greatly hamper their career development. For example, students who devote themselves to physics might want to spend more time learning about advanced knowledge and conduct research in science labs, rather them spend time reading novels and poetries.

Furthermore, colleges should also acknowledge the fact that students have different opinions towards imaginative literature. There are students who are mesmerized by the fanciful world of fiction and is greatly interested in exploring mythology. Conversely, there are students who is generally indifferent and apathetic towards imaginative literature and simply cannot feel the draw. Forcing them to enroll in such courses will only diminish their motive to even go to college and professors would also be wasting their time and resources on students who are not interested. Rather than requiring all students to enroll in these courses, colleges should spend their budgets on improving the quality of courses such as inviting famous fiction authors and conduct literature workshops, all of which students who are genuinely interested in imaginative literature will appreciate.

However, reading imaginative literature has its merits. It helps us cultivate imagination and observe the world in a different perspective. For example, mythology often links natural phenomenons and moral lessons together and we can certainly learn from this. Hence, rather than requiring all students to enroll in these courses, colleges can recommend these courses and encourage students to enroll, letting the students choose for themselves.

In conclusion, I think though imaginative literature has some benefits that aid students in becoming well-rounded individuals, colleges should not overlook the discrepancies among students and force them to enroll in these courses. Milder measures such as course recommendation and encouragement can be conducted to achieve similar results.