Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

In the society we live in, there are certainly some people we look up to. We admire them either because of their outstanding achievements or charming personalities. Nevertheless, the media's thirst for gossip and muck-racking tendencies often challenge the legacy of these figures. As far as I'm concerned, for public figures such as celebrities and politicians, it is no longer possible for a society to regard them as heroes if they've done something wrong. However, for those who operate behind the scenes such as scientists, their achievements and greatness can prevail since the media nowadays is simply not that interested in them.

Public figures are the most vulnerable to media scrutiny since they are the ones most exposed to the media. The group of celebrities, including movie stars and singers, is one example. Since their works are viewed by so many people in society and often idolized by teenagers, once they've committed wrongdoings and widely reported by media, it is almost impossible for them to be considered heroes again no matter how great their achievements are. People would feel cheated because their behaviors in front of the screen contradict with their actual deeds, and this discrepancy would only be intensified and increased after the media's exaggeration.

Politicians are also another group whose reputations are often blemished by the media and their legacies destroyed. Take Clinton as an example. Although he helped the U.S. recover its economy after the Cold War, he is unlikely to be regarded as a hero since news and articles about his affair with a White House intern was all over the place. Since politicians represent a country and its constituents, their deeds are also greatly scrutinized by the media to make sure they possess high moral standards.

Nevertheless, it is possible for society to regard successful scientists as heroes since their achievements lie in their advanced findings and contributions to society rather than individual public exposure. Since the mass media caters to the general audience, they are often unable to scrutinize the scientists' works. Thus, once scientists' findings are rigorously verified by academia, their status as heroes are decided. Even if the media attempts to diminish scientists' reputations, they often fail to do so. Take Einstein who is famous for his several affairs and Watson, the founder of DNA, who is known for being racist, as an example. If they were celebrities, they would be greatly criticized, yet they are considered heroic figures in society.

In conclusion, when it comes to public figures, I agree with the claim that it is no longer possible for a society to regard them as heroes since the media who are voracious for gossip will find ways to blemish their legacy. However, for people like scientists, they can still be regarded by heroes.