refusing computer usage in Medville Elementary school

While the recommendation of refusing computer usage in Medville Elementary school is a good idea, however the author argument’s in the passage is unreliable and the idea is not supported by such a valid supporting fact for instance an accurate, real, and representative data about the frequency of computer usage as well as other devices, the number of students diminishing their attention in school that is caused by the use of computer and the number of people involving in a coalition that prohibit the computer and other devices use except for searching information in order to collect school materials. On the other hand, the author should not generalize the assumption of computer or other devices effect on the student specifically in Medville Elementary school. Therefore, we have to analyze the number of student who brings their own devices at Medville Elementary school, how many times they use their own device or computer in school, and how can it impact their attention in school.

I believe that the recommendation for banning computer use in school is not wisely solution, because the computer and sophisticated technology more helpful for children in order to improve their motoric, spatial, and cognitive function. It proof when children gaming they learn about problem solving, attention, and perception. I believe that the author recommendation’s is not effective if the aim is only to focus on decreasing negative effect but not offering solution for maintaining the positive impact of that technology. Even though this argument allow the student using their phone only if they has a communication with parents or caregiver in certain time and area, however we don’t even know that the children will use the device for other activities or they will take a chance to break the rule. That’s clear that the recommendation given is not considering the other deterrent effects.

Additionally, the author assumes that in order to succeed in the 21th century workplace it is necessary to educate children to preserve their attention. However, the definition of success is not clearly defined by the author, and in the fact it will abstract definition depend on individual goal and perception. Finally, I believe that the problem of this case is we have to assess deeply what factors determine attention of student in Medville Elementary school and how to make educational material to maintain their focus on the study. However, for the usage of computer and device, the solution is offering the fix time and limitation of their activities on phone and the regulation given must supported by the teacher and the school may has a clear regulation and the clear consequence.