"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area , but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. Here the author claims that maybe rock music is now not that much popular among people, however, it may be their station only who are not proving the good quality of music and thus people are now shifting to other electronic gadgets like iPods so that they can listen to their favorite music anytime anywhere, and the author claims that they should now switch to news and talk format but if there are already set up stations for that then the remaining audience which is left with them, maybe they would also leave, because suddenly shifting to different format will not be beneficial at all.

Also, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven, first of all, no mention of the survey details are mentioned anywhere in the argument, what if to the person whom they asked about what genre they listen is very few people and they hastily come to the conclusion that there is a very limited taste among people regarding music, or what if the news and talk format are also popular among an only certain amount of people and hence shifting themselves also from music to news format wouldn't have any use because there is no information regarding what people are listening to news and talk format popularity among people.

While the author does have several key issues in his argument's premises and assumptions, that is not to say that the entire argument is without base, he could mention the proper statistics of people and the whole population of the city should be taken into amount and surveys regarding what genre they listen to or at what time most of the people are free when they could turn the radio on would definitely help them to get a bigger picture, and they should also ask what age groups are into news format or at what time they listen to this.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. .If the author articulated the points that are mentioned in the above paragraph then maybe it could be a strong argument but as of now, it will hardly convenience anyone because of the lack of proofs and unsubstantiated premises.