"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument which appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by residents of Mentia, stating that, theuse of salicylates would result into a continues steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the citizens of Mentia is not completely logical as it has several flaws.

Firstly, the author assumes that since Salicylates belong to the same family of chemical compounds, it must follow the same biochemical pathway as that of aspirin. The argument provides no information about the working mechanism of salicylates, and how it might lead to reduction in headache. Thus, it does not establish any fundamental corelation between salicylates and headaches being cured.

Secondly, the correlation between rise of use of salicylated in food industries and a decline in headaches suffered by the participants seems superficial and biased. The study does not take into account the trends of headaches suffered by people around the globe; the reduction in average number of headaches could be global phenomenon due to unexplored causes.

Also, the argument does not mention which food industries, particularly, add salicylates to their products, as it is a vital measure of the number of people consuming these food items. For instance, if salicyalates are added to staples such as bread, rice and grains, there would be consumptions of these chemicals by a large number of citizens, whereas addition of salicylates to exotic or expensive food products would only be consumed by a few. Thus, we do not have any clear measure, if the participants consumes any salicylate added food products at all.

Lastly, the argument does not explore the other reasons that might have led to a decrease in average number of headaches. For instance, people living in areas with powerplants or industries have reported an enhancement in health and genral well being after the plants were closed down due to reduction in pollution levels and a favourable change in the average climate of the place.

Thus we can conclude that the argument is not completely sound. The evidence provided that the rise in use of salicyaltes in food industries is related to a drcrease in the average number of headaches in citizens of mentia does little to prove the conclusion. Further scintific studies are required to gain information about the biochemical pathway of salicylates in human body and establish its correlation to curing of headaches. Since no information of side effects of salicylate consumption has been mentioned in the argument, a continued addition of these chemicals in food products might ultimately lead to degradation of food quality and toxicity in humans.