The series of recent success of unmanned flights to space mission has been able to gather a lot of information. So more resources should be provided for such unmanned flights because of the higher risk and cost involved in manned missions.

The opinion given to the national aeronautics magazine states that further investment in space research should be done in unmanned space flights, not in manned space flights. this argument is mainly based on the evidence that, the risk and cost involved in manned flights are much higher than that of unmanned flights. Although, the conclusion provided in the letter may be plausible, but it is based on many assumptions and most of which are unwarranted as explained below.

First of all, what if the success series of unmanned flights,as stated in the argument cannot not be taken as a rigid fact for conducting all space research? It is possible, that such flights were conducted in a less hostile ambiance in less distances, less risky endeavors, less important research. If this was true, then the conclusion may not hold water. For instance,there may be a research experiment in future, where flights are to be made in a far way planet where no such unmanned flights have been taken previously or the possibility of taking unmanned flights is null. Can the result of such important research simply, be abandoned because no such expeditions were performed previously by unmanned flights?

Secondly, does only higher risk and cost, shows that manned flights have less efficiency as compared to unmanned flights? It is plausible, that space flights require much more than less risk and less cost and some other characters that are not found in inanimate flights. The cognitive and reasoning ability oh humans are far superior than any other beings, and even though artificial intelligence has been able to imitate some of this skills, still they are not at par with human brain. Space flights are very important expeditions and a slight "miss" in a small place may render the whole mission unsuccessful. In such conditions, the intellectual ability of human, may prove much superior than a "can of tin".If this is considered then the conclusion derived in the claim becomes highly tenuous. Unless, unmanned flights are made at par with human intellectual, the ability of man flights cannot be solely disregarded.

Additionally, what if the unmanned flights are only able to gather those information which are programmed in them, and not other additional information, even if they are much more vital? If this was the case then, the claim may not be plausible. This is because, space flights are highly mysterious adventures, no one can ascertain for sure, what will be obtained as a result. In such a case, the "adventurer", must be fully prepared to face any circumstances and gather any additional information as it is seen. It is possible that during a mission, an unexpected circumstance is faced and the inanimate flight is not able to gather information about such conditions. So, unless the unmanned flight can gather all the information as it sees, they cannot be considered superior to manned flights.

In conclusion, the claim needs to answer the above three questions, if it is to hold water. In the present condition, the assumptions taken are unwarranted and they may backfire on the claim that unmanned flights should be prioritized than manned flights.