Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The debate on whether or not qualities of leadership can be learned has been a controversial one for a long time. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration to look at the constructive and destructive facets of this issue. Some people posit that leadership is an intrinsic quality and cannot be developed externally. On the other hand, some other people take an opposite stance and disagree. From my vantage point, I concur with the former group and aver that leadership is a natural skill and cannot be learned, I'll be justifying my stance in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be considered is that under similar circumstances not everyone becomes a leader. A leader emerges when he/she faces a specific condition and has to overcome it while motivating others at the same time. All of these does not occur singularly, there are always others who face similar conditions but still end up being followers. this is because not everyone has natural leadership. Mahatma Gandhi emerged as a revered leader of India after liberating it from East India Company. The hurdles he overcame to reach that illustrious positions were faced by thousands of other individuals. Yet, he is the one renowned as "Father of India". This clearly shows that leadership cannot be learned or taught.

Secondly, another reason which deserves some words to say is that the children of many famous leaders do not necessarily succeed in the same platform or even follow the same path. If leadership could be taught then it'll not be an exaggeration to say that most of the world leaders would have trained their descendants to be a worthy successor. However, this happens only in some few families and there are many cases where heirs of noted leaders have failed in same places.

Lastly, although the aforementioned points were the first one which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. Another subtle point which must be borne into mind is that there are no specific set of skills that can be taught in order to develop leadership qualities. This is because leadership is an abstract quality and no one can provide a set of training or learning ambiance for teaching somebody to be a leader. Certainly, there are some successful training and motivating camps which prove to do so. But all they do is enhance the internal leadership skills. A vivid example which can be given to shed light on this subject matter is one of my own experience. As a child, we used to have some moral education classes, where we were taught stories and struggles of great leaders and what skill sets made them successful in their path. Despite knowing all of these, not everyone of us grew to be a leader. This shows why leadership cannot be taught.

To wrap it up, contemplating aforesaid reasons, one can soon realize that no matter how hard one tries, they cannot instill leadership skills on anybody.