Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.”

Cars have been a major means of transportation for various reasons. They are comparatively accessible, affordable and easier to drive. The debate on whether or not the use of cars will be substantially reduced in the coming future holds different views. Some argue that, they will soon be replaced by a much superior vehicle while others disagree. In my personal opinion, I agree that in twenty years there will be less cars in the streets for several reasons.

To begin with, with the current rate of technological development, a new vehicle offering better services will be invented within twenty years. Cars even after being easily accessible, still have a lot of shortcomings and if these are addressed by a new invention, then certainly cars will be outdated. For instance, just yesterday I watched a youtube video covering first test run of hovercraft. As stated by the major scientist, they will be able to complete this invention within 10 yrs and make it available to the public. If this happens, then cars may be replaced by this miraculous invention which offers easier parking, less fuel need, more speed, better comfort and obviously the childhood dream of many of us. It’s clear to see that how the use of car will reduce in the coming twenty years.

Secondly, with the increasing population, cars may be out of use. To be more specific, higher number of passengers will demand a more spacious transport using the same amount of fuel. It is evident that with the limited roadways and parking spaces, we will be forced to move towards public transportations vehicles using the same amount of energy to transport higher number of people. A compelling example for this claim can be taken the rumor of China planning to come up with an official rule of banning the additional purchases of private vehicles in order to promote people in using more efficient public vehicles. For this reason, cars may be out of use on the coming twenty years.

Lastly, cars also face the danger of green transport initiatives that are being popular among the general public. Cars have been criticized for being a major source of environmental pollution. As a result, environmentally concerned citizens have started to replace their use by more green alternatives like cycling to work or sharing a vehicle. This initiatives also possess additional health benefits and are certainly cheaper. This may be the reason, why lots of government and offices are promoting this practices. For instance, this morning I heard a news piece on French Prime minister commuting to his office in a bicycle, so as to create the support the above mentioned green initiative. It is not an exaggeration to say that with a similar steady increase of above practices, cars will decrease in the near twenty years.

To sum up, the number of car users is certain to decrease in the future days. Invention of better transports, need of more commodious vehicle and green initiatives led by people are a clear evidence to this statement.