The series of recent success of unmanned flights to space mission has been able to gather a lot of information. So more resources should be provided for such unmanned flights because of the higher risk and cost involved in manned missions.

A letter to the editor of a National Aeronautics Magazine states that we must start investing our resources in unmanned flights which are probably less risky and less costly too. Recent studies tell that these satellites have gathered useful information and completed the project with lower costs and not dangerous as they are no people in it. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, are the situations with manned and unmanned flights comparable? In other words, is the place like the distance it went away from the earth of manned and unmanned flights similar or can be compared. For example, manned satellites may go far away than unmanned ones. It results in gathering information that can't be done without people in it. If the above scenario becomes true, the conclusion may get weakened.

Secondly, Is investing our resources in unmanned probes beneficial? The evidence says that in recent times there is a success of unmanned probes for telling us the appropriate information, but there may be a chance that these failed in past times. If it is true, there may be a chance of failure in later times which results in no efficacy for our investment. If this is true, we need more evidence otherwise the argument gets weakened.

Thirdly, Is the research on unmanned ones done completely? If the research is not accomplished, then we may not be sure whether we are provided with accurate and precise information by the satellite. This leads to hampering our project as there is no required information. If the satellite doesn't hold to resistances of air in space it may get crashed and this is due to its incomplete research. If the above holds true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument and to increase our investment of resources in unmanned flights.