"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author concludes that to increase the enrollment of students at Buckingham College, the college should build few dormitories in campus. The author line of reasoning is that there has been significantly increase in the number of enrollment and is increasing currently too which leads to the need of new dormitories in future. This argument is not convincing for various reasons.

First of all, an increase in enrollment in college, is based on the questionable assumption that there is a severe need for dormitories by students. However, the author fails to provide any evidence by the students. It is entirely possible that majority of the students enrolling are local residents and therefore they did not need for dormitories. Hence the author generalization is unreliable.

Secondly, the author assumes that there has been rise in appartment in nearby town which leads to difficulty to afford rented appartment. This assumption is unwarranted. It seems equally reasonable to assumes that the rent rates may decline in few years. Moreover, not all students cannot afford off-camous houses, but few might be willing to pay high rents based on thier financial conditions. Hence it is presumptous to conclude that increasing new dormitories will lead to increase in enrollment.

Finally, the author uses circular reasoning flaw. It offers, in place of support of conclusion, a mere restatement of that conclusion. The author provides evidence for the need of housing in campus due to to increase in enrollement. However author concludes that with the increase in dormitories in campus, enrollment will gradually increase besides the fact that enrollment has risen in past.

In sum, this argument is defective mainly because builind few new dorm does not increase the enrollment od students in college. To strengthen the argument, the author must, at very best , provide the evidence of the statistics of enrollment, its academic record, cultural event etc.