Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Clearly, the argument fails to provide information to know if a survey was carried out to sample the minds of the students and understand why the decline. It could be that they need to engage in paid activities to meet up bills for themselves and family; only a survey could tell this and more. Engaging them will be important to ensure a progressive and sustainable aftermath of the decisions the school board will take.

Furthermore, the argument makes an unwarranted assumption that 40 hours of community service prior to graduation is adequate for the students. Had the students been involved in this process, it could reveal that they indeed desire more or less time for various reasons. It could be that whenever they are free to volunteer during the year, the weather becomes unbearable and as such, they need to be indoors always. Perhaps, that which stops them from voluntary services could also mean that they indeed engage in virtual voluntary services elsewhere in the world from the comfort of their houses.

It is quite unfair that the argument already concluded without warrant that the students do not understand the value of community service and giving back to the society. The students maybe naturally benevolent and soft hearted to appreciate the value of community engagement and voluntary giving without having to physically engage in community services, moreso, as stated in the previous paragraph, they could be virtual volunteers to organizations outside their hometown or country.

In addition, the argument fails to justify how attractive these opportunities provided by the several charitable organizations are. Indeed, there could be plethoral of opportunities in this space but it could also be that these opportunities are not very considerate in their terms of engagement with volunteers. This could really discourage students from participating in them. The argument again makes an unfair assumption that the terms of engagement of the charitable organization are fair.

On a final note, as a result of the numerous unwarranted assumptions made by the argument, it fails to make a convincing case that the students of Pleasantville need to partake in a compulsory 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.