The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area.Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences foe our area.The company plans to build a small hotel on the land .Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary,there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community,which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.

The petition sent by environmental protection group to the residents of youngtown states that the smith corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is a part of youngtown wild preserve as it will lead to disastrous effects on the bird species in the area. However, the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and three questions need to be answered for a logical conclusion on whether that land is to be developed or not.

First, it was claimed that the sanctuary is essential for the survival of numerous bird species. This may be factual but how the sanctuary would be inadequate to provide sustenance to the birds in the preserve with the development project. Maybe, only a small portion of sanctuary will be utilised for the project. Further, there is no evidence claiming that entire sanctuary is necessary for the wild-life preserve. Also, only half of the sanctuary is necessary for the bird species. therefore, there are limited assumptions needed in order to form a cogent argument.

Next, it was claimed that the project will have disastrous consequences in the area and it would only harm the sanctuary but nowhere it is reported that what would be the harmful effects in developing a project. Moreover, it is given that the company needs to build a small hotel and therefore building a hotel will not result in serious effects. Indeed, the company promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary and so there might be legal agreement between the company and the sanctuary. If it is violated, the company might face trouble and so they definitely will try not to harm the sanctuary.

Finally, a claim is made that a large number of tourists visit the sanctuary to see the bird species and therefore they would be delighted to have a hotel nearby the sanctuary. additionally, with the increase in hotel occupants, the national economy is likely to boost. Thus, the claim employs false logic and there are consequences in which the construction of a small area in the preserve could benefit the community.

To conclude, the petition from environmental protection group can answer the above mentioned questions and additionally may provide evidence to their assumptions.