SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above states several facts upon which it concludes that Corporateville is a better place to live in. However, the facts and evidences provided in the passage are insufficient to corroborate this statement.

SuperCorp states that there has been a recent surge in the number of homeowners and hence Corporateville is a better place to live. However, it has overlooked the cause of this surge. Let us assume a discovery of a coal mine in that area which may have provided jobs to thousands of workers. The workers might have moved into the city with their families to live in cluttered, small-spaced apartments surrounded by strong fumes emitted by the nearby mines. This could account for the increase in homeowners, yet does not make Corporateville a better place to live in.

In addition, one of the concluding factors for SuperCorp has been a survey which was conducted among its employees. It concludes that their employees do not like to live in an urban environment. However, it may not be true that after moving to Corporateville, they will like the environment of that town. The employees simply might not have explored any place apart from their hometown of Middlesburg and might want a bucolic exposure. However, after moving to Corporateville, they may not appreciate the underdeveloped transportation system and the lack of malls, amusement parks and other facilities commonly available in an urban environment. If a similar survey is to be conducted in Middlesburg after a few years, the employees might still be unsatisfied with their iving conditions.

Moreover, the passage states that Corporateville has lower taxes making it cheaper to live in. However, the cost of living in that town might be more than Middlesburg. Corporateville could be isolated making transportation of vegetables and other food items costly, hence increasing the overall cost of the products. The lower taxes does not imply that the cost of living will be low as well!

In summary, the stated facts are insufficient to conclude that Corporateville is better that Middlesburg and sufficient evidences are required to fortify the conclusion of the argument.