The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above draws the conclusion that expanding their coverage of weather and local news will attract more viewers and advertising revenues. However, this conclusion is based on several assumptions and the argument is wanting in strong evidences to support its stated conclusion.

The above passage bases its conclusion on the facts that viewers have registered complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, it does not state what these complaints were. As far as we know, the viewers might have complained about the fallacies and inaccuracies in the weather reports. It is also possible that the people might be concerned regarding the telecast of petty issues that have taken place in the locality while ignoring the large and demanding ones. It is unclear what exactly the viewers are upset about and the argument might have falsely assumed that spending more time in covering the local news and weather might solve the issue. It is necessary to fathom the complaints people have regarding the coverage of local news and weather in detail and take necessary steps to abate this issue.

Also, there is ambiguity regarding the number of people that have lauched the complaints. It is possible that only five out of the thousands of viewers might have complained out of which four might be regarding the low coverage of local news and weather. Thus, it cannot be assumed based on the views of few people that covering more local news will attract more customers. A more detailed analysis and survey of all the viewers is necessary before taking such any further steps.

In addition, the argument further moves on to attribute the loss of advertising revenue on the lack of local news coverage. It assumes that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts due to the less display of local news and weather reports at night. However, the argument ignores the possibility that the local businesses might not want to spend the revenues advertising at night since people rarely watch television at night. The local businesses might be convinced that people do not watch the televsion especially news late into the noght. According to some surveys conducted, they might have found that advertisisng at night does little to bolster their sales and hence find no use in unnecessarily wasting their resources.

Hence, as clearly implied by the above statements, the argument has several loop holes and is based on several assumptions which might not hold true. In such cases, the conclusion of the argument is severly undermined and thus, it needs to be corroborated with irrefutable facts and evidences.