Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has developed so immensely in the past few years that each moment of our life is touched by technology. Albeit several inventions have made lives easier for us, technology has created more problems for the human race than it has provided solutions.

Our venture into technology has lead to excessive exploitation of the Earth. The invention of automobiles has in turn invented air pollution. We no longer enjoy the fresh air of nature but are drowned in toxic nanoparticles. The residents of Delhi, a city in India, are forced to wear masks daily during winters due to the excessive smog caused by air pollution from industries and vehicles that surrounds the city and many people have become victims of diseases like lung cancer, asthma and so on.

Moreover, the emission of green house gases from vehicles, factories, coal-based power houses, etc has lead to global warming. The effects of global warming are evident in the increased surface temperatures and the melting of ice caps. This melting has destroyed many polar habitats and forced thousand of species towards extinction. Also, many coastal cities are on the verge of destruction due to flooding. In addition to emitting toxic gases, the industries also dump their wastes into rivers and lakes. Thousands of aquatic species in the River Ganges flowing through India have become extinct due to the toxic industrial wastes and well as the hot water dispersed into the river by the factories.

Alongside, fresh water sources have also depleted leading to paucity of drinking water in Summer in many parts of India. Although there is no doubt that technology has made lives easier for us, it is at the cost of the nature. The automobiles have lead to air pollution, the large scale factories contribute to air and water pollution, the increased use of plastics has caused severe land pollution due to their bio degradable nature.

In summary, albeit technology had initially been thought of as a solution to many problems mankind has faced, it has caused more problems for humans to solve.