Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Media influences our perception of the world beyond our tiny space to a great extent. Newspapers, news channels and social media are our pathway to connect to the outside world. They bring to us news amd stories from all corners of the world. Due to the major role played by the media in our lives, the responsibility of dispering valid information rests on their shoulders. However, in recent times, it is often noticed that media brings to us several false information and denigrates the emminent citizens of the nation.

The increasing competition among different newspapers and new channels has proven detrimental to the society. In order to gain popularity, these journalists and reporters are predisposed to amplifying the smallest bit of anomalous behaviour of any celebrity they can catch their hands upon. They are quick to point out any mistake or tactless behaviour of a noted personality in public and denigrate them. Also, news channels regularly conduct debates in which many noteworthy people are condemned and their flaws exposed.

In addition, social media plays a crucial role in influencing people of all age groups, especially the young and immature section of our society. Social media serves as a great platform for spreading canards regarding celebrities and prejudices against certain members of the society. The internet very often potrays false facts pertaining to the people and inveigles wrong notions in the minds of the youngsters.

Albeit few emminent people might argue that media offers a discerning and unbiased view of the world around us to the citizens, it indubitably has a penchant for disseminating false and acrimonious views among the society in order to gain popularity over fellow competitors.

In summary, media plays an important role is shaping the views and notions people have of the society and tends to debase people more often that praising them for their deeds. Hence, in such situation, it is impossible for any member of the society to be potrayed as a hero.