Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Any democratic country ensures freedom to its citizens and permits them to elect representatives who are obliged to ensure a better life for their supporters. Although, these elected leaders must take into account public opinions to some extent, it would be an imprudent decision to yield completely to the people at the cost of the leader's moral principles. Every politician is characterised by his principles and his stand in the quotidian issues of the country and hence, the leader must remain loyal to his principles.

An ordinary human often has a myopic view of the situations around him and is predisposed to be biased in situations that concern him. In such cases, he often fails to fathom the issue and take a decision which accounts for the views and well-being of each individual affected by that decision. This is precisely why we require a leader - he represents the society as a whole.

Moreover, leaders are erudite and have a deeper knowledge of the situation compared to a common man. They are in touch with various other politicians who share similar mores. They regularly discuss the matters at hand and have a holistic view of the issues faced. They could study, together, the various paradigms implemeted in different countries to solve the existing issue and can implement similar strategies which agree with their principles.

Any good leader is distinguished from the corrupt and decietful politicians by his set of principles. He is elected by the people who admire his morals and are convinced that he would act in accordance with his mores and bring about positive changes in the nation.

Hence, it is implied that a leader should not be fickle and have strong morals along which he works. He must eradicate problems and find solutions for national issues which agree with his well defined set of principles.