Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented above draws the conclusion that inoculations cannot be routinely administered due to the slight possibility of death. However, it is wanting in the quantity of evidences provided in order to draw the given conclusion.

The given passage suggests that administering the vaccine in areas where cow flu is detected shall help curb the disease. However, it gives no evidence on how the disease spreads and how long does it take for the symptoms to appear. The virus might spread quickly among people and remain dormant until some factors catalyze it to harm the body. In such cases, administering the vaccine after the disease has been detected in some people might prove of no use to the population.

Also, the argument vaguely suggests that there is a 'small possibility' that the patient might die due to the administered vaccine. However, it does not delineate the cause of the death. Will the death be caused due to the overdose of the medicine in the vaccine? Have some deaths been caused due to an unsuspected immunity attack by the patient's body on the administered vaccine? The reasons for death could be copious.

A death due to overdose could be prevented by carefully regulating the amount of medicine administered as per the age, the gender or other factors of the patient. Whereas if immunity attacks have been observed in some patients, certain medical tests prior to vaccination could prevent such fallacies. There is a need to study the deaths due to inoculations against cow flu in detail and sufficient evidence needs to be provided to draw an appropriate conclusion.

Also, the conclusion states that the inoculations cannot be routinely administered. However, it does not provide details on how often the vaccinations should be given. If further evidence was available such as the amount of medicine administered to the patients and the time period for which the effects of the vaccine lasts, a stronger conclusion can be derived.

Hence, the above passages describe the necessity of stronger evidences that are required to fathom the implications of administering the vaccine which could aid in deriving a sound conclusion regarding the same.