SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The argument statement relies on multiple assumptions to project the point that Supercorp correctly moved their headquarters. However, these assumptions fall down due to their lack of supporting evidence and their proposed correlations.

The statement claims that due to the population increase in Corporarteville that it must be a more attractive place to live. This ignores the plethora of potential reasons that a citizen lives in a city. It can be said that a major reason for moving to a new city would be because of the attractiveness of the said city. However, if the city had lower quality housing and; thus, cheaper rent, this would also be a major driving factor. If there is further information on the motivations behind the recent surge in the population it could potentially be implied whether the city is a better place to live or not. Regardless, there are many statistical and demographical reasons for population change in a city and it would be difficult to pinpoint any single reason as to why the change occurred.

It can also be noted that the statement of the workers wishing to live in a less urban area relies heavily upon a survey. A survey can be a useful tool to estimate the wishes of a population. Nevertheless, there is not enough data to safely assume that this survey will represent the population fairly. For instance, the sample size used is not known. This means that a disproportionate number of employees could have been used, all with similar views, but the majority of employees were not consulted properly. Therefore, the survey will have skewed results. To try and counter this, a large sample size could be taken so that the views received will represent the entire workforce. Yet, there are still lingering issues. All the information that is given is that the employees "prefer to live in an area that is not urban". Thus, the type of environment that they do wish to live in is not known. Some may wish to live in a suburban area or some may wish to live in an extremely rural and isolated setting. It could, in fact, be that if all these options were in a representative survey that the urban area would command a majority.

Finally, assuming that lower taxes equates to increased safety and lower living costs has no proven correlation. The safety of an area depends on numerous factors: police services, reliable infrastructure and wealth, to name a few. It is not as simple to say that safety correlates to taxes. In fact, some services, such as the police or fire departments, may rely on taxes. This argument also only takes into account taxes as a cost for those living in the town. There are multiple other factors that could make living in an area more expensive: rent, house prices, cost of groceries and the price of gas. These are only some instances.

The logic for Supercorp to move their headquarters contains many flawed assumptions and potentially inaccurate information. Due to this, it is not possible to say if the correct decision was made by Supercorp. By providing more information and evidence the analysis could be improved, but there are still many complicating factors that would make coming to a suitable conclusion extremely difficult.