Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The argument that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become endangered due to deep-sea fishermen does not contain enough detail for the logic used to be considered concrete. There are also multiple unfounded assumptions that can not be verified based off of the passage alone.

The most prominent downfall of the above argument is the vagueness of the language and points put forward. If indeed there has been a significant reduction in the shrimp's population there is no background to what this actually means. For instance, if the population was in the tens of millions and was reduced by 500,000, this is indeed a large number that has been lost; however, as a fraction of the total population, it has not changed by a large percentage. Therefore, to accurately portray the change in population there must be specific numbers given for the percentage change in the total population. Further vague language is used when describing that the population "should" increase due to breeding and that the population "should not" return to normal levels. These statements contain no hard evidence as to what will happen. Thus, one is simply accepting the author's word and not basing their judgement on actual evidence and studies. To combat this, there should be mention of the typical increase in population in breeding and at which rate the population increases. Yet, even with this further information, extrapolating that this will occur year after year is not a guaranteed and so how the population is expected to change is difficult to quantify.

A major assumption that the argument in the passage is based upon is that the decrease in Shrimp population is solely due to the deep-sea fishermen. Although it is likely that the fishermen have contributed to a decrease there are many other factors that could be at play. The ocean temperature could be changing due to a changing climate or there may be more pollution in the water as Madagascar develops further. This would lead to the habitat that the shrimp need to survive and procreate being destroyed and stop the population from increasing. Thus, further in-depth research is required to document the effects of other factors and not just the fishermen. Adding this information to the argument would require additional cost and time, which may not be possible depending on who is undertaking the research into the shrimp. It should also be noted that even with additional studies, the subject matter is very complex and the exact factors involved may be indiscernible.

The decrease in Madagascan shrimp could be related to the deep-sea fishermen who have recently begun fishing in their habitat. Nevertheless, the given argument gives vague points and logical reasoning as to why this is the case. The passage also relies on the assumption that the fishermen are the only negative impact on the shrimp's habitat. Thus, the author must provide accurate details on the population changes and trends. However, even with these, it is difficult to know how accurate the numbers are. It is also necessary to find out if there are other factors at play.