Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Implementing a university policy where students only take classes within their subject field should be undertaken. This will ultimately benefit the student's finances and final career but not without sacrificing the breadth of their education.

University students in the United States (US) system initially undergo two years of general education and even after this will still have to take outside classes during their final years. In comparison, students within the United Kingdom (UK) education system immediately focus on subjects within their chosen field, remaining this way to graduation. This more direct approach allows for the length of time spent at university to be reduced. For instance, it will take a student generally four years at the US university to achieve a bachelor degree in an engineering subject; however, a student from the UK is able to achieve both a bachelor and a masters degree in the same time period.

The ability to progress swiftly through university has many knock-on benefits. By reducing the required time spent at an institution, this would reduce the amount spent on tuition. Thus, saddling the student with less debt in their future life. However, it must be noted that if universities were to implement degrees that can be completed faster, then the cost of the tuition may increase to accommodate this. A reduction in time at university would also allow the students to gain entry to the job market much sooner and; thus, begin contributing to society at a faster rate. Nevertheless, employers may believe that spending three years, instead of four, is not long enough to adequately prepare one for their profession.

Only taking courses within the desired range of subject matter negates courses that are considered to bring insignificant applicability in later life for a chosen career path. Therefore, a student can acquire a deeper knowledge of the subjects relevant to the career path they wish to follow. This may allow students to graduate in greater preparedness than the current students. Yet, this way of thinking depends upon what the universities believe their true aims are. As a university is an institution of education: is this more narrow approach to teaching truly a full education? To fulfil a well-rounded education, students of engineering should understand the great works of English literature, and a French language student should be able to understand the basics of statistics. After all, the life one has after university will not simply involve their chosen career but a plethora of life's challenges to overcome.

Finally, this approach would work well for those who have decided before university exactly what career they wish upon themselves. Yet, many students will not have this clear in their minds and so will need that extra time and those extra classes to find what it is they enjoy and excel at.

Requiring students to only take courses within their subject field would overall benefit the students involved. It would reduce the time at university, the associated costs and better prepare them for the career they have chosen. However, these advantages do not come without sacrifices to education and the flexibility in choosing said education.